Option – B !

The other day I watched Sheryl Sandberg’s interview with Oprah Winfrey. The discussion was over Sandberg’s new book Option B, which is in news for quite sometime.

At first you feel this book is about dealing with bereavement, as Sheryl wrote this book as an aftermath of dealing with her husband’s untimely death. To a large extent, this seems to be the basis of the book. The interview threw some light on what the book really is about. Ofcourse it has suggestions on how to tackle bereavement in your life and in others, but it also is about having a plan B when plan A doesn’t work.

I believe this is a profound thought, though it has been there for ages, with the book its out in the open for discussion and for its cognizance. The discussion itself is so thought provoking, I wonder how useful the book must be.
Quite often we deal with situations where our initial plan doesn’t work, leaving us disheartened and longing for another chance at it. We do not think of a plan B and certainly not as positively as plan A.

I could think of so many instances in my life where I could have done better with an option other than what didn’t work, but that’s not something we desire and hence we leave it at that or suffer in silence or tend towards depression, depending on its impact on our systems. At the same time, its easier said than done, to go for another option. Be it a job, a love story, a thing or a person so loved. I am hopeful this book will change the perceptions a bit if not more!

As soon as I finish my current readings, I am going to order Option B. Here are the links to various books (from my bucket list) by Sheryl Sandberg and Adam Grant which I find worth our time (and money)!
            

About Surabhi

I write on my several blogs on topics that touch life everyday. The most inspiring being the time I spend with my son!!
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

