Making people happy!

Yesterday I realised that when everyone around you is happy with one decision that you make, then there is certainly something wrong with the situation. How can everyone be happy with the same thing? Isn’t it a nasty thought that suddenly what you decide is pleasing just everybody around you?

or is it you who is compromising your happiness for the sake of people, society and your un peaceful mind. I read somewhere that tougher path is mostly the correct one, easier one doesn’t bring much in return.

well, point in discussion is my decision to move with my hubby to the village or the small town that he is now posted to. I initially had decided not to join him, but social pressure, stigma and hue n cry about wife not joining the husband is too overbearing when a girl decides and not the boy. Am lucky enough that my husband had no pressure on me. But even my parents are ready to send to that not so happy place all because am married to an army officer. Come what may they cannot tell me to stay back even if my father wants me to, so very much.

Well, this makes just about everyone happy, content and satisfied that am following this atrocious rule of imposing things on women, irrespective of what she desires from her heart.

Although I was distraught when I had decided to stay back away from him, it was because I like staying in facilitated places, rather than the tougher ones where getting a pasta is also a mission. My way of life is much different from the way people adjust in villages. Sorry, I didnt grow up or dreamt to be in one. And God decided that I must experience it, maybe to cherish rest of my life in better places.

Another important factor is my son. in fact he is the only reason am compromising and making everyone happy. Now he needs to be around his dad, at the same time he lives to be in a good city where he gets the kind of exposure his mom wants him to get. Unfortunately I cannot gI’ve him both. Very sad. Heartbroken. But am going, with a positive attitude that something in that small town will win me over and I would not run back!

Amen!

About Hope

I write on my several blogs on topics that touch life everyday. The most inspiring being the time I spend with my son!!
This entry was posted in Life, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making people happy!

  1. Nidhi says:

    Hey Surabhi,
    I guess i can relate to you so well, I was in a similar situation about 2 years back, where I had to stay away from my husband for 1.5 years and that was a very mutual decision, but end results was my parents being penalized to keep me at home( after marriage, even though they weren’t party to my staying with them) by this so called society, my relations with husband getting sore day by day and people getting between us, to sum it, lot of misunderstandings, lower tolerance levels n love. So its ok to take tough decision ( i too took) but then be thick skinned and be ready to pay a price. Write down what you can loose/ gain and if it will matter to both of you.later, plus its impact.
    Sometimes having a buffer plan will always help, just incase what you thought and it doesn’t works well.
    As there are just no free lunches in life. whatever your decision might be , god is and will always be there.
    Love, Nidhi

    • Surabhi says:

      Thanks sweetheart! Alternate plan is in place…we are clear on priorities. But something is missing…everything in thi situation is about everyone but me! That’s what is not going down well with me!

Leave a Reply

